Kindergarten Registration

Please register your kindergarten student before August 1st to ensure class placement.

Use the SPS School Zone Locator to find out which school your child should attend.

Kindergarten Registration

Children who are 5 years old before September 30 can start Kindergarten on September 6, 2022. But first, they need to be registered.

Online kindergarten registration is now open for the 2022-2023 school year. If you are enrolling a child in kindergarten at Suffolk Public Schools for the first time, please complete the Online Kindergarten Registration form. Once the form is complete, the school will contact you and schedule an appointment to finalize your child's registration.

Spanish Online Kindergarten Registration Form

If you are trying to enroll a returning student, you should receive an email with a code and information on how to complete the enrollment process.

How Do I Register My Child?
1.Complete the online application and schedule an appointment with your school.

2.When you go to your scheduled appointment, bring the following information about your child:

•A certified copy of State Birth Certificate
•A certificate of physical examination from a physician or a health department - the physical exam must be completed within the 12 months prior to the date the child first enters kindergarten;
•An immunization certificate containing complete dates for DTaP, Hepatitis A, Hepatitis B, Polio, Varicella, and MMR immunizations. Minimum immunization requirements can be found on the Virginia Department of Health website.
•Proof of residency in the city of Suffolk (i.e. water bill, gas bill or electric bill. Driver’s license not adequate)

3.Complete a registration form at the school and leave it with the principal.

4.Complete and return any additional information requested by the principal.

Who can attend Kindergarten?
Virginia School Law says that children may enter school if they are five (5) years old on or before September 30, 2022.

Compulsory School Age
Children who are 5 years old on or before September 30 should be enrolled unless the parents notify the school that they will wait a year.

Children who are 6 years old by September 30 must be enrolled in school. Children who reach their sixth birthday by September 30, 2022 and who were not enrolled in kindergarten previously may be placed in kindergarten or first grade.
-Virginia School Law (22.1-254 and 22.1-256)

Immunizations Required by Virginia Law
For minimum immunization requirements for entry into school and daycare, please consult the Virginia Department of Health website.